Design sketches

Having chosen my title from the task sheet and investigating some other infographics on similar topics , I used the background information I had collected and began drawing out some sketches and making notes on my initial ideas. 


img-Z08120332-0001

The sketch above shows a rough shape/layout that I want to follow up on and develop further. I made small notes around the edge of the page on ideas that I could integrate into the design to show different sets of informations in an aesthetically pleasing way.


The sketch below is a development of the information that I want to represent in the infographics poster. The title only specified when and where you went but I wanted to include my own more personal categories. This list is the first draft of ideas and small sketches of how I could represent them.

img-Z08120346-00011  img-Z08120415-0001img-Z08120445-0001My thoughts behind the timeline and problems that I encountered when thinking of the logistics of displaying the date and location clearly.  I needed to make sure it was both easy to read for information and also visually/graphically well spaced. I needed to work out how spaced out the dates where going to be so they weren’t cramped but they went up in something like 2s or 5s so it s easy to understand. The places were harder to structure as the words are longer so harder too all fit in the correct time stamp. I used airport abbreviations to shorten the word length so it would be easier to fit in. 


img-Z08120428-0001

This was the final draft before I began to use illustrator to draw out the image on the computer. It outlines the 3 design features that I want to include: colour key at the top, timeline along the bottom and an abstract linear shape in the centre that connects my current locations to all the places I have visited.

Leave a Reply

