Final Infographics Development

After spending time experimenting  with different colour schemes I settled on grey and blue. The slight different shades in grey of the background map fill and outline of the map made its shape clear but subtle. The almost luminous pale blue stands out against dark grey so makes it the obvious focus of the image. However I thought it still looked a bit static. For a poster that was meant to represent travel there was very little movement and fluidity to the design. I changed the shape of the lines to triangular, this combined with different shadows and blurred effects made the lines almost seem like arrows as they pointed to given destination. It also made the area around Lonodn thicker so it was clear that was wear the origin was.

Screen Shot 2014-12-19 at 16.02.48


I changed the timeline from a block line to drawn out foot prints. I think this added to the them of travelling. The block straight line was to harsh and contrasted with curved, lines and soft outline of the map. 
Screen Shot 2014-12-22 at 13.03.31


I used the abbreviated initials of airports to plot along the time line as it provided more space and used grid lines to ensure that they were all in line. Screen Shot 2014-12-22 at 12.56.29


However when asking for feedback from my peers they found the abbreviated airport initials were hard to understand. The information needed to be graphically clear so I experimented with a key. That was simply a table with the place and relevant airport. However I found that the grid really distracted from the abstract design of the lines on the map. Instead I just used the full word of the destination and adjusted font size and bold features, which I realised I could do when I set the view to actual size (A2). Screen Shot 2015-01-06 at 15.42.58


Final Infographics Image:

Screen Shot 2015-01-11 at 12.24.18

Leave a Reply

